A nonprofit working for climate protection through clean, efficient, affordable energy

Staff

Rita Leadem, Assistant Director: rita@ncwarn.org
Connie Leeper, Lead Organizer: connie@ncwarn.org
Pete MacDowell, Senior Strategist: petemacdowell@nc.rr.com
Lynette Minnich, Membership Relations Manager: lynette@ncwarn.org
Anna Moorefield, Paralegal & Lead Researcher: anna@ncwarn.org
Kim Porter, Community Organizer: kim@ncwarn.org
Manju Rajendran, Community Organizer: manju@ncwarn.org
Sally Robertson, Office Manager: sally@ncwarn.org
John Runkle, Legal Counsel: jrunkle@pricecreek.com
Bryanne Senor, Administrative Assistant: ncwarn@ncwarn.org
Ravin St. Julien-Brown, Community Organizer: ravin@ncwarn.org
Jim Warren, Executive Director: ncwarn@ncwarn.org
Nick Wood, Organizing Director: nick@ncwarn.org

 

In Memoriam

L to R: Jim Warren, John Blackburn and John Runkle

L to R: Jim Warren, John Blackburn and John Runkle

On January 16th, 2011, Dr. John Blackburn died unexpectedly but quietly in his home. He was a wonderful friend and colleague  – our volunteer technical advisor for over five years – and all of us at NC WARN miss him dearly. Please see more on remembering Dr. Blackburn here.


We would also like to remember Margie Ellison, who we are honored to have worked with. She is pictured here with Rev. William Barber at the 2010 HKonJ March in Raleigh.

Margie’s life was dedicated to the struggle for civil rights and for social, economic, and environmental justice. We keep her family and friends in our thoughts.


NC WARN owes its very existence to Lee County’s Billie Elmore. This retired therapist co-founded NC WARN in the late 1980s and played a major role in the remarkable defeat of Gov. Jim Martin’s intensive, five-year effort to build a hazardous waste incinerator in 21 successive counties.

Billie_Elmore_Martin_Sheen_cropped

One of Billie’s favorite moments: being handcuffed to actor Martin Sheen in 1993 protesting hazardous waste incineration.

This woman was fiercely courageous in challenging government-corporate collusion and deception, and she became nationally prominent in the grassroots fight to stop dioxin-creating waste incineration.

After retiring as NC WARN’s unpaid coordinator in 1993, Billie remained active for several years as a member of the board, a mentor to Executive Director Jim Warren, and a member of the Warren County Citizen-State PCB Working Group. Billie passed away in 1999.

For those who are understandably frustrated by the power of corporate polluters and the governments which often serve their interests over those of the public, Billie’s story is a hopeful reminder that ordinary people working together can overcome seemingly insurmountable odds.

Be Part of the solution. Join NC WARN. Donate Now

Your contribution is tax-deductible.

Other Climate and Energy News

more news
NC WARN - 25 years of successful grassroots activism.

Videos About NC WARN

more videos